Mountain View Mommy: Sand, Trucks and Testosterone

December 16, 2007

Sabotaged by Technology and Mariah Carey

Filed under: Stories — by mvmommy @ 7:41 am

Today I was attempting to bribe the kids to come upstairs so I could take a shower. Usually I can pop on a 15 minute show, and be done with showering in the same amount of time. I have streamlined the process so I can be sure that the minimal amount of damage will be done to the house, themselves & their sibling while I am not able to run interference.

So anyway, Justin refused to come upstairs. So I left him downstairs while I got Andrew settled, and then went down one more time bring him up.

While I had been upstairs, he had done the following:

Gone into my purse
Found the coveted possession… my phone
Flipped it open and found the music download section
Accepted the charge of $2.50 for getting music
Downloaded Mariah Carey’s “All I want for Christmas”
And proceeded to listen to it on the phone while sitting on the couch like Al Bundy.

Seriously…. Justin is amazing. He just turned 2 less than a month ago, and he has already used features on my phone that I haven’t even explored. He a technological genius in the making. HOWEVER, he has a horrible taste for music. Mariah Carey? Seriously? Really? I didn’t even like her when she was popular. Can’t you at least do Beyonce instead?

In any case, I was not going to spend $2.50 on that woman. Anyone else, I would have sucked it up… but not for someone who can screech to an octave only dogs can hear. So I called AT&T to have them reverse the charges. I figured we would all have a good laugh about the situation when I told my story. I really ham’d it up for good measure.

The only response I got was “I do apologize for the inconvenience” in the most deadpan voice you have ever heard.

Then I was interrogated like I had called the FBI – they wanted to ensure I was truly the wife of the person whose name was on the bill & that I really wasn’t trying to steal Mariah Carey songs for my own personal gain. What’s your name? Whose name is on the bill? What is your relationship to him? What’s his mother’s maiden name? What’s his social security number? What’s his favorite food? Does his wake up happy in the morning? Why don’t you like Mariah Carey? Why don’t you like her song? Don’t you like Christmas?

Just kidding.

In the end, the lady reversed the charges for me and asked if there was anything else she could do for me today. I said, “yes, can you child proof my phone somehow?”

She just said, “don’t worry ma’am, I don’t like Mariah Carey either”

Well, thank goodness for that!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

