Mountain View Mommy: Sand, Trucks and Testosterone

December 11, 2007

Goldilocks & the three potties

Filed under: Parenthood — by mvmommy @ 7:47 am

Andrew – aka Goldilocks – has been potty trained since his 3rd birthday. It’s been about 6 months now, and for the most part we have made amazing progress.

But there is a sticky little issue that no one warned me about before I dived into potty training….. that is night time training.

I was under the impression that once you start training, that it’s balls to the walls and you pretty much take the diapers and throw them out all together. So that is what I did. I went cold turkey. One day they were there, one day they weren’t. No diapers at naps. No diapers at bed time.

Andrew’s little friend Brody was doing it that way – so I guessed that was the way to go. I didn’t factor into account that Brody is the youngest of 3 brothers, and had a lot of big brother help showing him how to get it right.

Little did I know that most 3 year olds still wear diapers to bed, because it’s a long time to hold it. Over the past months we have made great strides, from accidents every night…. to accidents occasionally…. to waking up and walking into the hall and asking for help before accidents… and even walking to the potty in mommy’s room and taking instructions from me, while I continue to lay in bed (yes, that one was awesome: ‘pull down your pants, go potty, pull them up, now go back & tuck yourself into bed, I love you)

In any case, it seemed time that he figured out how to do this without waking us up every-night for assistance. We don’t do anything but stand there for support; so why not. We started the discussion with him.

Why won’t you go in your bathroom by yourself? It’s too dark.

Why won’t you go in Mommy’s bathroom by yourself? It’s too bright.

Why won’t you go in the other bathroom by yourself? It’s too far away.

Who knew he was so picky.

So yesterday we had an electrician come over, drill a new outlet into his bathroom, install a special light with the exact amount of brightness that would appeal to Andrew Goldilocks.

Sure enough, night one… he got up all by himself, went potty, and went back to bed. Not a peep asking for help. Granted I woke up because I heard him, but I wasn’t involved… that is progress. I am telling you, I almost danced a jig! I was already counting the days that I would be getting a full night’s sleep. God Bless Carl the Electrician!

Unfortunately my victory dance was short-lived. The next night it rained, and though the lighting was right, the rain falling on the skylight in the bathroom freaked him out so bad that he couldn’t even pee in the bathroom with both mommy & daddy standing by.

Who do I hire to fix the sound of rain in the bathroom?

1 Comment »

  1. VERRRYY familiar with this phenomenon. My 6 yr old still stands at my bedside, STARING at me in the middle of the night until I awaken, to then whisper, “Ma, I gotta pee.” SO GO!!! (Why is he telling me?!)

    And my 3 yr old still wears Pullups. Mostly they’re dry in the morning. But I’m not willing to take chances. He can wear them until he’s a teenager. I’m way too tired.

    And I have one more yet in diapers.

    *sigh*

    Comment by Sarah at In the Trenches of Mommyhood — December 12, 2007 @ 5:38 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

