Mountain View Mommy: Sand, Trucks and Testosterone

December 9, 2007

Ironic

Filed under: Parenthood — by mvmommy @ 8:18 am

There was a song by Alanis Morissette a while back called ‘Isn’t it Ironic’. My friend Joel would always listen to the song and say … “Those things aren’t ironic, they just suck.” Since then I can’t hear the song without both laughing, and also contemplating what is actually ironic.

So, Joel, tell me if you think this is ironic.

We have this game at home for the boys. It’s called Cranium Cariboo. They love it. You need a key to open up little boxes to see if there are balls inside. If you find 6 balls, you can open the treasure chest. Honestly it’s the best game I have ever seen for kids 2-4. My kids have spent hours finding those balls.

I have spent hours trying to find those balls too.

Every time they play the game, they end up bouncing these little balls all over the house. Some end up under couches, some under curtains, some hidden in toy chests, and some on top of the china cabinet (yeah that one was particularly hard to find). So after about a year, I thought I knew all the hiding spots.

But we had the neighborhood kids over 2 weeks ago. They are 8, 6, 5 and then my 3 & 2 yr old. The game of losing these balls got a bit more complicated. After they left, I only had 2 of the 6 balls left. For the life of me, I couldn’t find any more. I even called the kids to find out if they had hidden them somewhere – to which they responded no I was playing with the egg carton, and no I just bounced them around the room. Helpful.

So after a week of searching, I finally gave in & did an internet search to find replacement balls. I found them & ordered them on the spot. Today they arrived and I was thrilled that we could play the game again. My kids have spent the last hour losing 6 more balls all over the house.

HOWEVER, at one point I noticed that there were now TWO green balls. Hummm… if one was lost… how come there are two now?

I noticed that Justin had stashed some of his balls in the egg carton….. WAIT A SECOND… egg carton.

Ohhhhh, the 5 year old hid the 4 missing balls in the egg carton. When she said that she was playing with the eggs, she meant the balls. Of course.

Isn’t it ironic that the day that I get the new set of balls, I would find the old ones?

1 Comment »

  1. That is ironic.

    Now if I could just find my balls…

    Comment by Joel — December 11, 2007 @ 4:41 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

