Mountain View Mommy: Sand, Trucks and Testosterone

September 5, 2007

Stupid John Tesh

Filed under: Nathan — by mvmommy @ 1:25 pm

For the third time tonight, I stood waiting outside of Nathan’s car … waiting for him to unlock the passenger door, while he is already inside with his door shut.

The first time I figured he had just forgotten to hit the unlock button twice – to get all the doors unlocked. The second time I figured he was just slow. The third time was ridiculous. I don’t complain that he doesn’t walk me to the door, hold it open, and close it for me (though I love that). So I was just plain irritated at this point, especially since this had happened all within a 2 hour period.

When I got in the car, I was ready to say something. However, I heard this on the radio:

Hi, this is John Tesh. Have you ever rolled your eyes while your husband was talking to you?

Of course. Duh. Nathan looks at me and grins… while I proceed to roll my eyes. In my head I am saying “why yes John Tesh, I roll my eyes all the time at this door-locking-fool-of-a-husband”.

blah blah blah … eye rolling is a sign of contempt for your spouse… blah blah blah

Nathan is practically leaping out of the seat yelling, “Yeah John Tesh, I need some respect around here.”

I roll my eyes.

Husbands and wives need to learn to talk in a caring and respectful way that shows their love and support of one another.

Nathan jeering at me, “Yeah that’s right – caring and supportive. That’s what I’m saying.”

Me grinning and rolling my eyes so that they could practically pop out of my head.

Good communication is the foundation for a strong marriage.

I think my communication was pretty clear. With one roll of my eyes I communicated the following:

You are a 33 year old man with a car that you have been driving for 4 years now… you know how to work it. Open the damn’d door so that I can get in and not wait in the cold while you listen to your new best friend John Tesh.

Stupid John Tesh, you & my husband might be sleeping on the couch together soon. How about an ‘eye roll’ to that one?

2 Comments »

  1. Doesn’t Nathan know that having John Tesh on his side means he automatically loses?

    Comment by Joel Bittle — September 6, 2007 @ 8:22 am |Reply

  2. I am on your side on this one! I think a good roll of the eyes is GREAT communication! I have mastered it – trust me!

    Comment by The Sister — September 19, 2007 @ 3:17 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

