Mountain View Mommy: Sand, Trucks and Testosterone

June 20, 2007

Self-Fulfilling Destiny

Filed under: Stuff — by mvmommy @ 6:37 pm

Today I was made painfully aware of some of the things I like to brush under the rug. The things that I know are there, but I do nothing to change them.

It started with the dentist. For many people, they hate the dentist. I actually LOVE to go have my teeth cleaned. I schedule it 6 months on the nose. Who knows why, I just like it. However, I hate to floss. So every time I go, I get the ‘floss discussion’. In recent years, I have been actually working on flossing. But not so much in the past 6 months. So when the nurse asked me how my teeth were, I summed it up by saying, “You will like my brushing. My teeth feel fine, My gums are swollen due to the fact I haven’t been flossing. I not trying to make a statement out of this, I just know that is what you are going to say… so I am summarizing for you”.

I figured maybe she would skip her lecture. However, I was wrong. And she made extra sure that I felt the fact that my gums were swollen by poking them around a lot. It was the first time I actually hated going to the dentist. And to add insult to injury, the dentist came in and told me that I had a cavity. The cavity is in a place that cannot be repaired because it’s between the teeth. It can only be created due to lack of flossing.

Great. Lesson learned. Self-fulfilling Destiny Moment #1.

Later I was talking to my girlfriend about a wedding I am attending this weekend. We were lamenting over the fact that we are back to our pre-two-births-weight… we still look ‘fat’. That our body type is no longer the same. I then resolved to help out my situation by going to the nearest department store and buying “SPANX”. I have a few nameless friends who have been swearing by them, and thought why not!

So I left the kids with a sitter and before my hair cut, I ran to the store. I had ten minutes and I crammed my body into these teeny tiny lycra suctions of death. They did a good job. But not nearly the Jessica Alba look I was hoping for. But a tad better than the post-birth version of myself. So I bought one.

I then had 2 minutes to find something to eat before my hair appointment. MacDonalds was the only thing close by. So I slammed back a Quarter Pounder as I raced to the salon. It was at that moment with my Bloomingdale’s bag swinging from one arm with SPANKX in it… and my cheeseburger in the other, that I was faced with the irony of it all.

Disgusted at myself, I resolved to rectify the situation soon (after I finished the burger). Self-fulfilling Destiny Moment #2

Let’s just hope that when I am at the wedding this weekend… people will focus on my recently highlighted, lovely hair. That part of my day went very well. I will attempt to hide the puffy gums and protruding belly by distracting folks like they are 3 year olds … “Hey everyone … look at something shiny… look at my hair!

3 Comments »

  1. It is odd how the body gets back down but is oddly so much softer. One of my kids once said years ago, “I like lying on you the best Mommy, you are so nice and squishy.” Ahh yes, that was exactly what I was going for, comfortably squishy.

    Comment by Mary Alice — June 21, 2007 @ 2:52 am |Reply

  2. Gotta love the highlights. I “cheated” on my hairdresser and just love my new haircut and highlights. The last three days of the vacation I kept swearing I’d get my pants to fit again. Right after the new capucchino bonbons are gone. That is a great image, though, with the big mac and whatever the heck miracle undies you got.

    Comment by Nicole — June 23, 2007 @ 11:11 pm |Reply

  3. The style of writing is quite familiar to me. Did you write guest posts for other blogs?

    Comment by How to Get Six Pack Fast — April 15, 2009 @ 7:23 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

