Mountain View Mommy: Sand, Trucks and Testosterone

April 18, 2007

A field trip for mommy

Filed under: Stories — by mvmommy @ 5:19 am

The other day I was going to the new Lowe’s in Sunnyvale to look at their flower selection. On the way there we passed a Fire station with a yellow fire truck outside. Andrew immediately noticed it & wanted to go see it. So I told him, if he was good while I was shopping – we would go visit the fire station and see the firemen. Brilliant, impromptu plan. I was patting myself on the back for my excellent display of mommy-skills:

flexibility (since we still had to get home and start cooking),
listening (not just hearding Andrew in the car to do all my errands),
hands-on-learning (seeing up close is always better than books)
social awareness (talking to firemen can teach you something about your community)
and general fun for everyone.

All in all, I was feeling pretty good about myself and so was he since we were going to do something HE asked to do.

After a successful shopping trip, we pulled around the backside of the fire station, parked, started walking towards the building and WHAM…. that’s when it hit me. I had walked right into the middle of a Chippendale’s strip tease.

God must have been rewarding me for my good behaviour… because there in front of me were about 8 of the hottest firemen I have ever seen. Seriously, I was so dumbfounded that the only thought that was running through my mind is …. ‘I am not wearing my wedding ring, and they are going to think I came to hit on them.’ I was trying not to stare, while I had two children hanging off each arm… but it was impossible. If they were casting a show on firemen based upon their physique – those men would have won. Hands down.

There I was in the middle of their apparent gym area – turning red from my toes to my head. I am pale – so I am sure it was obvious. I remember stammering something about can we see the fire engines. And then thinking, was that sexual? I don’t think so. But I can’t think right now & they are all staring at me & smiling. And why are they continuing to do their sit-ups half naked? And why are lifting about 500 lbs in front of me like they were on Muscle Beach? And what was with that guy that never stopped jumping rope… just jumped closer to me to talk? Were they trying to kill me?

Thankfully, one nice fireman took pity on my inability to handle this much unexpected testosterone in one place… and led me inside to the fire house and showed my kids the trucks. I recovered nicely, until he offered to show me where they sleep. It was then I decided that I had had all I could take without doing or saying something inappropriate in front of my children. So I did what every good mother would do. I thanked him, insisted on going back through the gym for one last look, stared at each and everyone of those fine firefighting men, and told them to keep up the good work. And I meant it.

I encourage every mother to take her kids to visit the Sunnyvale fire house … you know, it’s for the kids.

1 Comment »

  1. Hmmm. I find it interesting how the story you told me left out a few of those subtle details that you exposed on your blog:

    #1. Choosing the day you “forgot” to wear your wedding ring to conveniently stop by the firehouse at workout time…

    #2. You mentioned lots of firemen working out, but not HALF NAKED firemen working out!

    I think it’s time for me to start encouraging Andrew to use the computer and telling him how COOL it is to work at places like Sun and eBay, and how he should drag mommy to see all the HOT (ha ha) fully clothed engineers there 😉

    Comment by Nathan — April 18, 2007 @ 11:13 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

