Mountain View Mommy: Sand, Trucks and Testosterone

April 15, 2007

Food for five

Filed under: Parenthood — by mvmommy @ 12:45 pm

We have four people in our family: my husband, my two kids and me.  There are no pets.  There are no live-in family members.   However, we always have food for five at every meal:  a highchair tray for Justin, a plastic plate for Andrew, a dinner plate for Nathan & I, and a floor full of food for whoever else was meant to join us.

When will I stop serving food to the floor?   When can I have guests over 15 minutes after I have finished washing/swiffering the floor… and know it will still be clean?

Today I swiffered the floor and hadn’t in about 30 hours…. and I swear I could have fed an African village for a week.  

My kids know how to eat – granted they are still small.  But for God’s sake am I sick of wiping up the floor.  I used to put a mat down, but really what is the point.  I just ended up shaking the mat outside where stray cheerios and kernels of corn are now nestled in my grass or backyard or gutter.  From one mess to another. 

I am looking forward to the day that I can walk barefoot through my house at the spur of the moment, and not have sand, smooshed banana, or spilled milk end up on my foot.   I need some sanitizer, and I will happily shower you in it when you come through my front door.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

