Mountain View Mommy: Sand, Trucks and Testosterone

April 13, 2007

Bounce House

Filed under: Stories — by mvmommy @ 4:20 am

This past week I took my kids to Pump It Up. If you have never been there, and you have active kids… you are missing out. They have blow-up everything: bounce houses, climbing structures, 2 story slides, basketball courts, etc etc. It is great. If your kids are under 2, they are free. Parents are free. And on their walk-in days, it’s really only for kids from ages 2-6. So it’s perfect if you have little adventurers.

Andrew clearly is into this. We went for the first time a few months ago and he was a bit timid. Luckily he has some very fearless friends, so they showed him how it was done. It took about 20 minutes, and then he got the hang of it. Climbing up the rope slide. Sliding down head first. Slamming into walls. Climbing up blow-up rock walls. It was crazy to watch. Justin at the time was crawling but not walking on his own. A couple of times I climbed up the slide with him under my arm and took him down. But I am not sure he was convinced it was any fun. And if you have been there… you will know that climbing up a 2 story slide with nothing but a rope to hold onto, with a child under other arm… well, that is no small feat. So if he wasn’t into it – I wasn’t going to keep schlepping him up there.

HOWEVER, this time was a whole different experience. We went on Tuesday with one of Andrew’s playmates, Nate. Andrew & Nate pretty much ran into the door yelling “BOUNCE HOUSES” and took off. Never to be seen from again unless they got stuck somewhere. He is under three, but I was impressed with his complete independence and ability to climb these things. But that is not what stunned me. It was Justin who practically bowled me over.

Justin is not even 17 mos yet, and he wanted to climb up the 2 story slide like his brother. I could not keep him away. He was pulling on the rope on the side and refused to move unless I carried him up. Once we were at the top, I let him slide down on my lap. Which he loved. When we got to the bottom he immediately got off my lap and headed for the rope ladder again. So up we went.

This time however, when we got to the top he practically launched himself down the slide on his own. He wanted nothing to do with me sliding with him. I figured, what the heck. So I let him do it. There is my 17 mo old catapulting himself down a 2 story slide head first. No tears. Just huge smiles. Again, and again and again. Seriously it was crazy. I kept waiting for someone to yell at me for letting him do it – since he was clearly the youngest there. But there was no stopping him. He went in all the bouncy houses. He went down all the slides. If Nate & Andrew could do it – so could he. In fact, he was the one that often was leading the charge with Nate… INSTEAD of Andrew.

Definitely he is the daredevil of the family. Guaranteed I had better be mapping out the fastest route to the ER – because we are for sure going to end up there multiple times before he hits kindergarten. No doubt with a huge smile on his face.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

