Mountain View Mommy: Sand, Trucks and Testosterone

April 6, 2007

morning snuggle

Filed under: Stories — by mvmommy @ 6:11 am

Andrew sleeps in a Big Boy bed. He is very proud of himself, and has been great about staying in his room when he is supposed to be sleeping. We are lucky. I don’t chalk it up to great parenting – I chalk it up to his personality & the fact that he is a rule-follower like his parents.

So the fact that he now opens his door when he wakes up in the morning, and stands there quietly waiting until someone notices him… makes me want to smother him in kisses.

He knows that he has to open the door quietly because he is not allowed to wake his brother up (they share a room). So he is super quiet. And then he stands there and barely whispers… ‘mommy?’ I will then pop my head up in bed and look down the hall to see if he’s standing at his door. Sure enough, there he is. So I smile and motion for him to come on into our room and give us a good morning kiss. He will then, quietly shut the door behind him so as not to wake Justin, and walk on his tiptoes to our room. It is adorable.

When he gets to our bed, I pull him up into it and let him lie down for a few moments with me under the covers. It’s my snuggle time with him. He’s not a snuggler, so I take what I can get.

This morning he climbed in, and whispered good morning after giving me a kiss.  He then took Daddy’s pillow and laid his head next to mine so that we were nose to nose smiling at eachother. (Daddy was already downstairs making breakfast). After a few minutes of silently laying there snuggling and holding hands, I asked him if he wanted to go downstairs. He said, “not yet, I want to stay here and snuggle with you.”

Ahhhhh…. complete and total contentment.  I hope this new morning routine lasts forever.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

