Mountain View Mommy: Sand, Trucks and Testosterone

April 2, 2007

April Fools!

Filed under: Parenthood — by mvmommy @ 1:37 pm

For the first time since having my 2nd child, the following thought crossed my mind:

“this (having two kids close in age) might actually be….. easy?”

My kids must be attempting to pull an April Fools joke on me.

The only other time I have felt that two kids were ‘easy’ was during the first three weeks of Justin’s life.  That was the time when my newborn was completely unaware that he’d popped out of my belly – and slept all day.  You know that time: when the baby tricks you into thinking that they might be the most mellow child alive.   And then WHAM!  At week 4, they wake up and start bawling for the next few months because they are pissed that they have to live in this crazy world.

But seriously, my children are actually getting… dare I say it… easy to take care of. They are beginning to play really well together and with other children. They seem to need me a little less than they used to. They are starting to share spontaneously (without me hovering over them as the enforcer). And they are figuring out how to handle the little squabbles that come up without violence.

If you would have asked me this last week, I would have laughed in your face. However, something happened in the past few days and I must say… life has been blissful.

There are lots of things that I can attribute it too. I’ve been calmer. They kids have been outside more. They aren’t sick at all. They have been getting rest and eating well. Dad hasn’t been travelling. I have been prepping them in advance for playdates – setting expectations. Justin is talking and understanding more – likewise we are understanding him better. And as a whole family, we have been working on patience.

We’ve tried all these things before. And sometimes they work – sometimes they don’t. But when the stars align and things start to click…. it’s easy and fun. I can’t believe I am saying this, because it for sure will jinx it, but I can almost see reading a book at the park in my future, while my kids play in the sand independently. Can I dare to dream the impossible dream?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

