Mountain View Mommy: Sand, Trucks and Testosterone

March 30, 2007

the perfect age?

Filed under: Family — by mvmommy @ 6:30 am

Right now I think Justin is at the perfect age: somewhere between 1 – 2.5. He’s 16 months, and I love it!

Every age I seem to love more than the last. But I forgot how much I particularly loved this age (and it wasn’t even very long ago that I was there with Andrew).

He is all smiles and kisses. He wants hugs and snuggles all the time. He is full of big drooly grins and new teeth. He can toddle around to get to things he wants, but he hasn’t mastered his legs yet – so it’s still adorable to see him walking. He is starting to talk, but no one can understand most of the things he says except for me. He can play independently, but also wants mommy too. He can eat on his own, follow basic instructions, and doesn’t need so much careful supervision. He can even hold his own with the big kids now if he needs to. He’s a little man, but still my baby.

Everyday is an experience with him. We either learn a new word, or we learn a new skill. It’s crazy to see him interact with the world in the way adults do. He knows that in the morning – he gets dressed – so he picks some socks and shoes to put on. If he wants to go outside, he says ‘outside’ and heads to the door. He will pick up his hat, put it on his head, and bring the jacket to me to put on – BEFORE he tries to open the door. If he wants milk, he goes to the fridge and tries to open it. If he’s done with dinner he takes off his bib, hands me his plate and says ‘done’. If I lay down, he lays down too and pretends to snore. If he’s mad, he swats out his frustration at the offending toy … but then says ‘sorry’ in the next breath to apologize for hitting. Everything about him is charming & amazing at the same time.

I think the best part is that he can’t fully talk yet. No, no… I am not trying to stifle him. It’s just that he has no problem communicating what he wants effectively without words. I know exactly what he’s trying to tell me – and I think it is so fun that we can communicate like that. I feel so close to him right now, and I realize that once he talks, he won’t need me anymore to interpret.

I spent an hour this morning simply snuggling with him in my bedroom closet. Why? Because he wanted to explore the shoe boxes and lids. Because he likes playing peek-a-boo behind my full length body pillow that I have stored in the closet. Because he just wanted to roll around on the floor under the hanging shirts & pants. I will take any excuse I can find to hug my sons… so I had no problem spending an hour in a 4×4 closet practicing pointing out all of our body parts. Right now, his favorite body part is ‘eye’ – which always says correctly as he laughs and tries to poke my eye out. Why do I love this age? Because after he gouged out my eye, and I yelled “OWW!”… he proceeded climb on top of me to say ‘sorry’ pronounced ‘sar-woe’ and give me a hug and a kiss with a huge adorable grin on his face. Come on, who can’t love this age?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

