Mountain View Mommy: Sand, Trucks and Testosterone

March 17, 2007

Boys vs. Girls – the Aftermath

Filed under: Parenthood — by mvmommy @ 2:06 am

I should preface these next few blogs with an apology. I know I am verbose. Majorly long winded. These next few blogs are all of the same theme, and are mostly for Joel & I. I started by writing them all in one… but it was just too much. So I separated them out. For those of you who are interested and think they can brave it – grab a cup of coffee and something to eat, you might be here for awhile.

This week we had a great visit from the Bittles. It was utter chaos in the best possible way. I am not sure who enjoyed it more:

  • Joel and I, because we got to commiserate and share a lot of laughs together while taking advantage of an extra set of hands
  • Clara and Andrew, because they were like two little devils on a mission to conquer the world
  • or Kate & Justin, because they finally found another human their size who seemed to understand their gibberish

There were so many moments that I wished I had a camera, but it was impossible. I now know why 3rd and 4th kids do not have photo albums. It’s not because their parents don’t want to. It’s because it’s physically impossible to take pictures of your child doing something cute, when 3 of your other children are running in opposite directions towards varying degrees of danger.

I did get to videotape a little bit. I included what I could, but it was interrupted by many rescue attempts of one of the four children. So you will just have to take my word on it. The experience was priceless.

There was a a 30 minute period when I got to take care of just the Bittle girls. It was especially sweet for me. I am not used to little girls in my house. They were so agreeable. So, I took them to the store and they sat in the stroller so quietly and sweetly during my purchase, that I wished I could trade them for my normal more monkey-like shopping partners. They each got stickers for good behaviour and we all left happily. We could have been on a commercial for shopping at Albertsons, it was that nice – no running down the aisles, no climbing out of the cart, no contests to see who can yell the loudest. It was blissful.

After that trip, I had a period of 30 minutes by myself to take care of all 4 kids – boys and girls. Now that was a different experience. The girls let their hair down a bit, and the boys put on a show. There was a temporary 5 minute period where they all sat on the chairs around my table while I fed them a snack. But after that, they must have sent each other mental telepathy to explain how to scatter in every possible direction… because there were kids everywhere. Andrew was showing Clara how to ram his bike into the wall. Clara was trying to ignore him and use the tennis racket too close to Justin. I had Justin trying to escape from the sandbox, which could have led to him ending up headfirst onto the concrete. And I had Kate just as pleasant as could be, mocking me watching me while I tried to make dinner and run back and forth to save various children from various levels of death. I couldn’t help but laugh at the sheer chaos of it all.

In the end, I am not sure if I decided I want more kids… or no more kids. It was a toss up, especially considering that

  • loading the car was an hour ordeal – we always had a something or Kate someone that was missing
  • the zoo was more hectic than usual – getting Andrew everyone to do the same thing was a sheer test of will
  • meal time was impossible – Clara the kids were always running away
  • and germ free living was a dream long forgotten – Justin’s snot bubbles sippy cups were being traded like baseball cards

However, there is one thing I am sure of. I am sure that I wish the Bittles lived with us. I don’t mean in the same state, in the same city, down the street, or neighbors. I mean LIVED WITH US. I had more fun in two days with Joel and his beautiful girls than I have had in two months.

(This was especially true when we were enjoying our Jamba Juices during the kids’ 2.5 hour nap … you read it here… 4 kids… all sleeping… we deserve an award!)

(Or maybe my favorite moment was Joel’s imitation and accurate predication of Randy Jackson’s review of Sanjaya during American Idol. I wish I had taped that!)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

