Mountain View Mommy: Sand, Trucks and Testosterone

February 17, 2007

In sickness and health

Filed under: Parenthood — by mvmommy @ 12:51 am

In health – most definitely

In sickness – well, maybe.  Okay, sometimes.  Alllllriiiight, yes, always, but no one is usually happy about it.

This past week I have had a head cold. No big deal.  My head feels like a brick, but I can still function.  So I just move on.  HOWEVER, now my kids seem to be coming down with it.  This could obviously be from the fact that Justin likes to ‘french’ me when he gives kisses.  And Andrew is really BIG into sharing right now, which is a skill we are trying to foster – however, it’s showing up in the swapping of drinks.  Whatever the case may be, my kids are now sick.  

In our home, our kids seem to fall into two categories of sickness.  They are either VERY sick or just a little sick. 

When they are VERY sick, I feel horrible for them.  They can barely move because they are so feverish.  They don’t want to do anything, eat anything, or drink anything.   They just want to sit there next to me while I read them a book or watch a little TV.  They need a lot of extra snuggles and love (which I happily take advantage of the chance to provide), and they want me to tell them it’s all going to be okay.  They might be vomiting on me, but I still feel horrible for them because I know that they are scared and that they don’t know what is going on.  It just sort of breaks my heart.  Luckily my kids aren’t normally this sick.

On the other hand, my kids OFTEN seem to be a little sick.  You know the type: runny nose, cough, generally miserable but with no fever to report.   This type of sick kid is the one I dread.  And these are the kids at my house right now.

At first I always feel bad for them, because no one likes to be sick.  I hate it. I just want someone to take care of me even if I have the sniffles.  So I try to be sensitive and give them food they like, or do things that will make them happy.    But after a while, I find myself becoming immune to their woes. 

I find it hard to satisfy them all day when they are just generally cranky.   I can see they are on the verge of a meltdown at any point, so we are all on edge.  And when they aren’t feeling well, there is no talking them down.  They want what they want and when they want it.  So you might as well just give it to them and be done with it. 

However, the hardest part is at night when we are all tired.  It’s already been a long day, and I just want them to go to bed and let me go to bed as well.   However, my kids cannot sleep with a cold. My little one will wake up 4-5 times a night just to cry.  He only has a minor case of the sniffles.  However, he’s so sensitive that if his pacifier falls out – he cries.  If he rolls over and bumps the side of the crib – he cries.  If dad tries to soothe him instead of mom – often he will cry.    Thus I am awake.   Ironically, right now I still am awake when the rest of the house is sleeping because they keep waking me up and now I am too tired to sleep!

I love my kids in sickness and health.  But gosh I am hoping for more health soon.   I could really use the sleep.  

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

