Mountain View Mommy: Sand, Trucks and Testosterone

February 13, 2007

Boob obsession

Filed under: Body Parts — by mvmommy @ 3:35 pm

At this point, I have many many stories about my kids and their obsession with their bodies. It’s not hard to imagine I would, they are boys… and they are two… so they are going to be curious. Many of my stories are inappropriate, so I keep them to my personal conversations with friends and family. We all get a good laugh at the innocence and lack of social skills that comes with still being a toddler. And we also laugh at our ridiculous attempts to be blase, while holding a ‘serious’ conversation about boobs or a penis with a 2 yr old.

Today’s body adventure went something like this:

Andrew & I were sitting next to each other at the dinner table, goofing around. He started this silliness by thumping my belly a few times. But then unexpectedly, he grabbed my boob the way a 16 year old kid would with his first girlfriend … with this stupid smile on his face like he knew he was doing something that might not be okay, but boy was it fun to try anyway. He has never done this before, and I was rendered immobile for a second due to the shock of it all.

When I regrouped – QUICKLY – I told him that Mommy’s chest was only for MOMMY. And I proceeded to remove his hand.

He responded by simply going a different route, and asking ‘can we see?’ while attempting to claw at my shirt.

Again, I said, NO WAY… stop grabbing my shirt & sit down and eat your dinner.

At this point, Nathan is pretty much smirking across the table from us, waiting for the inevitable.

Sure enough, Andrew was not to be thwarted. He grabbed the neckline of my scooped shirt, tried to shove his face down it, while yelling “WHERE ARE YOOOOOUUUU?”

Of course, Nathan was doubled over laughing at this point. Typical male. But I couldn’t help to giggle either… I mean, who expects this? So I grab my shirt, and started to pry myself away from him. I am trying to have some dignity, without encouraging this behaviour by laughing or making a big deal out of it (which would then ensure that this scenario would happen every night at dinner until I was 80).

Andrew got the message, but not before he yelled out one last parting shot… “Where’s your boobs mom?”

Now come on… that just hurt.

2 Comments »

  1. So Andrew’s a Boob man? Behind Nathan’s smirk was a heart welling up with pride.

    Comment by Joel Bittle — February 13, 2007 @ 5:06 pm |Reply

  2. My younger son was always been obsessed with boobs. He finds them comforting but often grabs them like the 16 year old boy as you mentioned. The funniest was at night. He’d crawl in my bed, cop a quick feel and then go to sleep. Lord help me if it’s after a shower and they aren’t covered.

    Comment by Nicole — February 13, 2007 @ 6:06 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

