Mountain View Mommy: Sand, Trucks and Testosterone

February 12, 2007

What’s for dinner?

Filed under: Parenthood — by mvmommy @ 4:26 am

Most of my ‘mommy’ friends complain about dinner on a consistent basis. They often find themselves faced with one of the following problems:

  • they can’t find the time to care for the baby/kids and do dinner… a VERY VALID problem
  • they don’t know how to cook – thus attempting with a child is a monumental task
  • they do know how to cook, but only ‘do gourmet’ – and a 6 hr cooking marathon just doesn’t work anymore
  • they can cook fast, but can’t find time to plan ahead (menu & grocery shopping) so that they are prepared with everything they need on a daily basis
  • they can cook fast, but they are always interrupted by the pitter patter of little feet and quick grabby hands… thus what’s the point, it will never be ready in time

I love to cook, but I think I have faced every one of those problems at one point since having Andrew & Justin.  So the other day a fellow preschool mom suggested that we have a ‘Meet the Chef Party’ at Chef Danes in Santa Clara. I thought – EXCELLENT IDEA. Drink some wine, taste some food, get out of the house, be with other adults, take home a free meal at the end of it… what is there not to like? So I went.

Chef Dane’s core competency seems to be creating a delicious menu that uses all fresh, high-quality ingredients. They don’t do frozen food. They pride themselves on healthy and great tasting meals. The facility is clean.  And the staff is super friendly, helpful, and fun. If you end up using their services, you can choose from one of the following options:

  1. Assemble your selected meals yourself at one of their facilities (literally takes 5-10 minutes per meal)
  2. Have selected meals assembled for you, and simply pick them up
  3. Have selected meals assembled and delivered to you

blog.jpgSo last Friday we went back again and booked an appointment to assemble some meals. I chose 8 meals and 1 dessert. Yes, of course I chose the dessert. They had a chocolate blah blah blah on the menu, and I blindly said “YES PLEASE”. I believe the cost was about $220 total. Which sounds like a lot at first, but if you do the math, it is crazy cheap. 8 meals for 4-6 people. I packaged each of my meals in two containers… so I came away with 16 meals for our family. 16 days I don’t have to cook dinner. Approximately $13 for an entire dinner for two adults and two toddlers; including a side dish some of the time, and unlimited vegetables from their produce station. AND I have a dessert too!

We arrived at 7:00, and were done by 8:15. In a little over an hour, I saved myself a half a month’s worth of cooking planning, preparation, and irritation. It was awesome! If you don’t believe me, just check out my freezer… all that stuff was from my visit to Chef Dane’s (minus the Otter Pops… that is another story.. probably for Nathan’s blog).

Both my girlfriend and I came away from the event slightly buzzed because we ate too many chocolate chips while assembling our Chocolate Bread Pudding with Amaretto sauce. (yeah, you know you want some of that).  But I think the euphoria was more from the fact that we felt like we were cheating on something & getting away with it. Somehow we had escaped the traditional bonds of being a housewife, found a secret place where dinners are delicious, easy, and we didn’t have to do anything mundane which includes chopping, wiping up spills, dishes, or even looking for the correct measuring spoon.    All we had to do was drink some wine, talk, and spend 75 minutes assembling on a Friday evening.

It’s a great business plan when you can get people to pay you money, and they still walk away feeling like they got the better end of the deal. Good job, Dane. I definitely feel like I won some sort of motherhood lottery at your store!

1 Comment »

  1. That sounds wonderful! I’m going to look them up–that’s cheap for all that food.

    Comment by Stefania/CityMama@Strollerderby — February 14, 2007 @ 5:28 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

