Mountain View Mommy: Sand, Trucks and Testosterone

January 28, 2007

Life outside of Primary Colors…

Filed under: Thinking — by mvmommy @ 5:22 am

Okay, Okay, I have caved. I will be the first to admit it. I am writing a blog even though I have previously insisted that I would not.

Yes, I said “writing a blog is no way to maintain a friendship”

Yes, I said “I don’t have time to write a blog”

Yes, I said “I don’t need the world to know my personal thoughts, only a select few need to know how crazy I am”

So, you might say ‘Traitor!’ ‘Hypocrite!’

Please let me explain. I am not writing this as a way for my friends to keep updated on my life. Yes, you can read it & chuckle at my mishaps. Yes, you may be entertained by my children. And yes, you might actually hear about something that I didn’t tell you personally via the phone or email. However, you should still expect to receive calls and emails and cards as usual. A friendship needs a personal touch, and I don’t expect my blog to do that. Okay? Okay.

However, I have decided that I need a life outside of primary colors.

If you have seen my house, then you have seen our living room. Which by a more appropriate name is the “playroom”. It is covered in blue mats. Why? Because I have boys, and boys destroy things, namely themselves. So the mats prevent their heads from looking like a map of the US Mountain Ranges. I digress. The floor is blue. The trucks are red (and by trucks, I mean about 100) . The hammers and tool-benches are yellow. Sometimes I wonder if there are other colors in the world. Oh wait, there is brown… that is the dirt on the floor from the sand and mud we have just brought in on the red trucks with the yellow shovel in the blue bucket.

I love my kids, I love my husband, I love my life… but sometimes I crave PINK. Yes, the color I grew up hating. I am not a girly girl. I was not into frilly dresses, or lots of makeup. But there is so much testosterone in my house, that pink is a refreshing change occasionally.

I find that I crave a creative and partially social outlet, that doesn’t involve building forts and digging in the mud. Yes, those are definitely fun too. However, sometimes it’s nice to drink a cup of coffee while it’s still warm and tell a friend about all the cute things your kids are doing (or not doing) without having to stop to yell across the room for one child not to hit the other.

So this extrovert needs a way to ‘purge’. The good, the bad and the ugly. The shades of things that I find in between blue, yellow and red. I find that I have bombarded my friends with stories that they may or may not want to hear. I have called family with thoughts that no person should have to listen to over, and over, and over, and over.

I have been reading many blogs by other parents recently, and I thoroughly enjoy reading their stories about their kids. I enjoy their insight into life, and keeping things sane in a job that has little to do with sanity. And I have found that just knowing there are other parents out there, that are making mistakes and still raising good kids, has made my job a lot easier.

If you are looking for great grammar, and perfect punctuation. You will have to stop reading. This is more of a stream of consciousness … and my own personal way of remembering the little things that float in & out of my days. The greys, the pinks, the oranges, the greens.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

